October 2020

Judge Albert J Hoffmann

Member of the IDR Group Judge Albert J Hoffmann was elected as President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea on 2 October 2020.

The election took place during the fiftieth administrative session of the Tribunal. The election was held in hybrid format: fifteen judges were present in the courtroom and six attended remotely via videolink. The election was held using a secure electronic voting system
President Hoffmann has been a member of the Tribunal since 2005. In accordance with the Statute of the Tribunal, the President is elected for a period of three years and may be re-elected. The President presides at all meetings of the Tribunal, directs its work and supervises its administration. The President represents the Tribunal in its relations with States and other entities.
The International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea – ITLOS – is an independent judicial body established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. The Tribunal adjudicates disputes arising out of the interpretation and application of the Convention. The Tribunal is composed of 21 independent members, elected from among persons “enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognized competence in the field of the law of the sea.”
Currently there are 168 States Parties to the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea.

The late Thomas Mensah, member of the IDR Group, was a former President of ITLOS.