February 2011: New Members and Consultants

The IDR Group is pleased to announce the names of new Members:

Prof Ziya Akinci (Turkey): Lawyer and Professor of Law, Istanbul. Professor Akinci’s experience as Arbitrator, Counsel and Expert has included acting in ICSID, ICC, and ad hoc arbitrations in major international disputes involving parties from around the globe.

Dr Nayla Comair – Obeid (Lebanon): Lawyer and Professor of Law, Beirut. Dr Comair – Obeid regularly serves as counsel and as sole arbitrator, party – appointed arbitrator and chairwoman of international arbitral tribunals conducted in Arabic, French and English under the rules of the ICC and other international arbitration institutions.

Dr Nabil Elaraby (Egypt): Director of the Cairo Regional Centre for International Commercial Arbitration. Dr Elaraby’s past and present posts in the diplomatic, judicial and legal fields include: President of the UN Security Council; Vice-President of the UN General Assembly; Ambassador to India; Judge, International Court of Justice; Member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration;  Member of the ICSID Panel of Arbitrators.

Ulf Franke (Sweden): Former Secretary General of the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce. Mr Franke has served as an arbitrator in various countries including China, the Russian Federation, the Ukraine, Hungary, Finland and Sweden.

Mr Yu Jianlong (China): Vice-Chairman and Secretary General of the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC). Mr Yu’s other posts include the Vice–Chairmanship of the China Maritime Arbitration Commission (CMAC); the Asia Pacific Regional Arbitration Group (APRAG); the International Federation of Commercial Arbitration Institutions (IFCAI); and the China Academy of Arbitration Law (CAAL). Mr Yu is a Board Member of the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce.